top of page
Search

Part one

Lean in a little.


Get comfy.


I want to tell you part of my story today, and I'm glad you joined me.


I was born on what I can assume was a warm mid-May afternoon. I live merely miles from the hospital where my parents met their first-born child (hint - that's me), and I drive by the home I was taken home from the hospital to almost every week.


My early years were spent here. I lost my two front teeth at a young age on softball fields that I've coincidentally spent many hours at as an adult. My younger brother was also born here and we are true fans of our local college team. I met my now wife at the tiny Christian college across the road from my Big XII university. It's home in the truest sense.


All of my adult life has been spent in this haven that has not always lived true to it's definition.


The year I turned 24, things started changing. I had been out of college for a year, I was suffering through a job that barely paid the bills, and many friends that I considered my village had up and left me. Okay, not "left me", but, they'd left, and so it felt like I was the only one impacted. But this story specifically is not about the people I've lost. It's about the people I've found. Specifically, the person I have committed my life to. My wife.


It's funny how in small college towns, you get to know a lot of people. And let's just say, I didn't know I had met my wife when I met her. I thought she was just going to be another good friend. And that's because a wife was definitely not what I envisioned myself having one day. A husband, maybe, but definitely not a wife.


You see - I was what most in my then circle would consider just a good Christian girl. I went to church every Sunday, I met with my "life group" (Bible study), and I chose not to drink excessively or put myself in situations where I would be looked poorly upon. Those were the "rules" I was supposed to follow. I was accepted.


And then, I met her. Holly. 6'1" of pure athletic beauty and sometimes grace. We quickly became friends. Then, we celebrated my 24th birthday together with some friends. And the next day, she left for two months. I made plans to visit her and spend the 4th of July. And honestly, the rest is history. Our "dating" anniversary is July 4th. We've been together for over five years now and just celebrated our one year wedding anniversary.


Okay okay, the rest isn't just "history". There's a lot to it. But that, my friends, is for another day. Cheers.


Britt

she/her/hers

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page